Crisis rocks Imo Assembly, 3 members resign and suspended reports that the crisis rocking the Imo State House of Assembly is far from being over, as the tempo changed yesterday with three principal officers, including the Majority Leader, Hon Lugard Osuji resigning their positions.

The heavy presence of armed Policemen within the Assembly complex was the first indication of what was to play out.

At the resumed hearing yesterday wherein selected members were allowed to participate, the member representing Owerri Municipal, Hon Lugard Osuji announced his resignation the majority leader. 

Others who resigned include the Deputy majority leader, Kennedy Ibe, representing Obowo state constituency and the chief whip, Hon Marcel Odunze, for Orlu state constituency, who are all members of the same political party with the speaker, All Progressives Congress (APC). 

Immediately after the resignations, the Speaker, Rt Hon Acho Ihim announced Hon Uche Oguwuike ,from Ikeduru state constituency as the new majority leader; Hon Chinedu Offor representing Onuimo state constituency as the Deputy Majority leader and Authur Egwim ,who represents Ideato North as the new Chief Whip as their replacements. 

Thereafter, the Speaker announced their suspension for two weeks which Lugard Osuji accused him of unilateral decision. 

At the last sitting after the botched budget presentation on November 27th, Hon Lugard Osuji had moved a motion for the suspension of the Clerk of the House, Chris Duru,which was supported by twenty one other lawmakers

However, lawmakers who pleaded anonymity said the Speaker suspended the three members in a bid to protect his seat and to prove to Governor Rocha's Okorocha that he supports him.

But the chief press secretary to speaker ,Marcel Ekwezuo,in a telephone conversation told our correspondent that the speaker did not escape impeachment at the plenary.

Ekwezuo ,equally claimed that his principal did not unilaterally suspend the former principal officers.

According to him, "the speaker did not escape impeachment ,neither did he unilaterally suspend the three former principal officers. Rather it was purely the resolution of the House. Lugard Osuji ,the former majority leader was replaced with Uche Oguwuike, Kennedy Ibe ,replaced with Chinedu Offor and Marcel Odunze was replaced with Authur Egwim"

Crisis rocks Imo Assembly, 3 members resign and suspended Crisis rocks Imo Assembly, 3 members resign and suspended Reviewed by Unknown on Wednesday, December 06, 2017 Rating: 5

No comments: