Shettima declares Tony Nwoye winner of Anambra APC Governorship election primary

                                        Exclusive photo by reports that Governor Kashim Shettima of Borno state yesterday announced Comrade Tony Okechukwu Nwoye the flag bearer of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in the November 18th Anambra Gubernatorial election after defeating 11 other candidates in the keenly contested primary election.
Shittima who is the APC Anambra state Primary election committee Chairman said Nwoye emerged because the party provided a level playing ground for everybody adding that he does not know Nwoye but they avoided the top shots in the party in Anambra to avoid being influenced.
Declaring Nwoye winner , he urged him to rally round others to ensure victory for APC at the final elections even as he eulogized Senator Chris Ngige , minister for Employment for being a true party man.
‘’I don’t know Tony Nwoye and if he comes here I wont even recognize him but he won because of the level playing ground the party provided for everybody’’.
He said though Anambra was known as headquarters of rigging they avoided anything that would tarnish the transparent elections they had in mind of conducting for posterity sake hence transparently Nwoye emerged winner.
He said the total ballot papers were 4,600 but they ended with 4,333 ballot papers and total votes cast were 4, 333 with 4, 302 ok and 31 invalid votes. He thanked the police and DSS as well as media for their support.
Nwoye who is now 42-years old was a former PDP Chairman in Anambra was declared winner by Alhaji Kasim Shettima APC Anambra state Primary Election Committee Chairman in what political watchers adjudged a very transparent and peaceful primary.
Nwoye,  a former NANS President, medical doctor and member of the Federal House of Representatives representing the people of Anambra East/West constituency of Anambra state shocked highly rated Senator Andy Uba representing Anambra South senatorial zone to secure the nod of  APC delegates to win the candidacy.
He polled a total of 2,146 votes to beat his closest rival, Senator Andy Uba who polled 931 votes.
Nwoye defeated 12 other candidate including Senator Uba, Chief George Moghalu and Engineer Barth Nwibe to emerge victorious.
Tony was born on 13th September 1974, and he schooled at Metropolitan Secondary School, Onitsha before proceeding to study medicine at the University of Nigeria, Enugu campus and Ebonyi State University where he was sworn in as a medical doctor.

Nwoye was the first medical student to become the speaker of the student union house of representatives in the University of Nigeria. He received an award from the then Vice Chancellor, Prof Ginigeme Mbanefo, for the role he played in fighting cultism in the school.

He became the national president of National Association Nigerian Students in December 2003.

He became Assistant Secretary of the Executive Committee of the Anambra State PDP in 2005 and by 2006 at the age of 31, he became the Chairman of the State Executive Committee of the Anambra State PDP.

In 2013 he contested for the governorship seat of the state on the platform of the PDP where he came second to the incumbent governor of the state, Willie Obiano of the All Progressives Grand Alliance.

Nwoye is currently in the National Assembly, representing Anambra East/Anambra West constituency.
Nwoye thanked the delegates and APC leadership for the confidence reposed on him and assured he would not disappoint the party and the state if given the mandate while asking all to join forces with him to move the party forward.

Chief Willie Obiano, Governor of Anambra state had earlier in the month of August secured the ticket of APGA to fly their flag in the elections while Osita Chidoka secured the UPP ticket. Godwin Ezeemo is the PPA candidate and by tomorrow all eyes and attention will now be on PDP as it holds their own primary today, August 27th, 2017.

Meanwhile , it was not clear the next move by Senator Andy Uba but unverified sources said he is headed to Labour Party. Uba could not be reached on that.
The breakdown of the APC Guber primaries total vote scores.

(1) Paul Chukwuma 110 votes

(2) Nonso Madu 21 votes

(3) George Moghalu 525 votes

(4) Barth Nwibe 414 votes

(5) Mike Nwike 20 votes

(6) Tony Nwoye 2146 votes

(7) Chike Obidigbo 22 votes

(8) Donatus Okonkwo 10 votes

(9) John Bosco Onunkwo 85 votes

(10) Senator Andy Uba 931 votes

(11) Uchendu Adaobi 1 vote

(12) Obinna Uzor 17 votes

31 invalid votes were recorded.

Shettima declares Tony Nwoye winner of Anambra APC Governorship election primary Shettima declares Tony Nwoye winner of  Anambra APC Governorship election primary Reviewed by Unknown on Sunday, August 27, 2017 Rating: 5

No comments: