9 professors shortlisted for LASU VC contest


 Nine out of 14 professors have been shortlisted to contest for the post ‎of the Vice-Chancellor at the Lagos State University (LASU).
A competent source, who pleaded anonymity at the University’s Registrars office, made the disclosure on Friday in Lagos.
The source said that 14 professors had applied for the position within the six weeks of the advertisement.
“Nine were shortlisted after several considerations of their qualifications and pre-requisites for absorption,’’ the source said.
The source noted that among the five candidates who were not shortlisted was the immediate former Vice-Chancellor, Prof. John Obafunwa, whose tenure ended on Oct. 31.
According to the source, the candidates who were not shortlisted do not possess a PhD certificate, while others had not spent up to 10 years as professors.
“Although the advertisement had outlined that the professorship of the candidates must have lasted seven years, it was extended to 10 years during the screening as it applies in federal universities,’’ it added.
The source said that while six of the shortlisted professors were from LASU‎, the other three were from outside the institution.
It named the shortlisted professors as Prof. Abolade Adeniji, Dean, Faculty of Arts, Prof. Senna Bakre, Former Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academics), Prof. Olatunji Bello, Lagos State University College of Medicine (LASUCOM).
Others are Prof. Nurudeen Olasupo, Department of Microbiology, Prof. Hamidu Sanni of the Islamic Studies Department and Prof. Babajide Elemo, Science Faculty‎.
The professors from outside LASU are a professor from Texas, U.S., simply identified as Oki, Prof. S.A. Tella, Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ogun, and Prof. Lanre Fagbohun, a former LASU staff now in the University of Lagos (UNILAG).
The source also ‎said that the interview for the shortlisted candidates had been scheduled to hold on Dec. 7 at LASUCOM, Ikeja.
The post of the Vice-Chancellor at LASU had been vacant, following the expiration of the tenure of the former, Obafunwa on Oct. 31.
The Lagos State Government had on Nov. 7, appointed Prof. Fidelis Njokanma, (DVC, Administration) as the Acting VC of the institution through the university’s Governing Council led by Professor Adebayo Ninalowo.‎
NAN reports that Gov. Akinwunmi Ambode of Lagos State had on Nov. 17, sent the LASU 2015 Amendment Bill to the state House of Assembly for ratification.
The proposed a single term of five years for the institution’s vice-chancellor.
9 professors shortlisted for LASU VC contest 9 professors shortlisted for LASU VC contest Reviewed by Vita Ioanes on Friday, November 27, 2015 Rating: 5

No comments: